download (1)

The Case of the Missing Marquess: An Enola Holmes Mystery by Nancy Springer

The first book in a series about Enola Holmes, the much younger sister of Mycroft and Sherlock Holmes. On Enola’s fourteenth birthday, her mother leaves. Enola is hurt by her mother’s abondonment, but then she finds a series of clues left for her by her mother that suggests her mother ran away to be able to live a freer life than what was allowed for women during the Victorian era. She raised Enola in that same manner and left resources behind to help Enola maintain her freedom. So when Mycroft wants to tame Enola and send her to boarding school, she runs away and lives on her own in London, where she becomes involved in a series of mysteries, all the while searching for her mother while Mycroft and Sherlock are searching fo her. The books show the hardships faced by women in that time period, literally crippling themselves with the clothing they wore and having no rights. Enola is clever and resourceful, a fine role model for young girls. There are a total of six books in the series.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s